How I got started with my Open-Source Contribution?

The basics

In the beginning, I started with basics like learning git and Github. because in the end, you need to contribute to some remote repositors which are done by version controlling, and without git, you cannot even imagine open source contribution or anything like software engineering.

Git and GitHub

I started looking for projects

And I found a repo with a large number of projects and contributors. I went through the project section and thought of what I can do to this repo. I came up with and the idea of adding my project to the repo. And I raised an issue asking permission to do so.

I raised an issue

I was learning React and other front-end essentials like SCSS and tailwindcss. So I was left with a front end to contribute. So I started looking for front-end projects on GitHub. And luckily I found one. Power the Web is a GitHub repository that mainly focuses on front-end and full-stack projects. I opened the issues tab and asked the maintainer to permit me to contribute and he was very kind to permit me.

Merging the Project into the repository

I worked on a Personal Portfolio project which was built using React and tailwindcss. I created a PR and after reviewing the project he merged my project and this is how I was able to contribute for the first time.

This is how I started with an open-source contribution. I know this is just beginning and I'll be learning and applying them to my projects to contribute to open source.

Thank You.